Loving a family you just met

My last post was about my Chilean family that I adore. I neglected to mention one integral member of the family. Our Abuelita. I don’t have any great photos of her or any great stories to tell, but she is definitely a key member in our little family. 

And recently, she suffered a stroke (as far as I understand). She has been in the hospital for almost a week. Even though she is over 90 years old, the ‘accident’ hit the family really hard. My host mom was already busy enough without the added concern of hospital visits and coordinating helpers for her mother. She’s strong, but strength can only get you so far. 

It’s definitely been a little different these last few days around the house. There’s been a change in the atmosphere. 

Please pray that Lisa and I can be helpful and not hindrances to our loving family. 

Leave a Reply

