Hace un mes

unmescollage

It’s been a month since I stepped on U.S. Soil after my Chilean Adventure. And it’s still an adjustment. Not really to the culture, but rather of my new self in an old, yet different environment.

“Returning home is the most difficult part of long-distance hiking; You have grown outside the puzzle and your piece no longer fits.”
― Cindy Ross

A friend posted that quote on facebook, and I couldn’t help but think how true that statement is (replacing long-distance hiking with travel). My piece doesn’t fit where and how it used to. I don’t fit in the same space that I did before I left.

Therefore, I’m searching for where I belong in this new, changed reality.

Thank goodness our God is unchanging, never-wavering, always faithful, and always true. I can count on Him to be steadfast and true during this season of change.

God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble.

– Psalm 46:1 (NLT)

Thankfully, my relationship with Christ is continual and He will always be there for me in times of change and uncertainty.

However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t miss things from Chile.

I miss my friends. I miss my family. I miss sunsets from the dunes. And living in Spanglish. I miss the hospitality and warmth of Chilean culture. I miss last minute plans that turn out to be the best evening of the month. My heart aches for the girls in the home. I miss sharing God’s unconditional love and joy in their lives. I miss the kisses. I miss the hugs. I miss the closeness I felt. I miss having Lisa down the hall. I miss the sense of adventure in the air. I miss the fire that we all had for living. The desire to go wherever, whenever, on a whim. Flexibility. Unscheduled life that just happened. Laughter late in the night. Sharing tears in joy and grief. I miss my Chilean adventure.

Chile will always hold a special place in my heart. A time of joy, change, flexibility, love, peace, and adventure.

As for now, I’m thankful for the adventure I had and ready for the next one.

Leave a Reply

