What am I going to do with a Spanish degree?

The question of the moment. Generally asked by caring people. It’s definitely cultural. I notice myself asking other friends what they plan on doing with a Biology or English degree. It comes naturally. Why? Because that’s how we are as a culture. We want to know what comes next. We want to know the final product, immediately.

So to derail that speech, I tell them (truthfully!) that I might double major in Social Work.

But that doesn’t mean that it will happen. I might very well graduate December 2014 from Wichita State with a Spanish degree.

And what will I do with it?

Honestly? No idea.

But do you know who does have an idea? God. The creator of the universe, of you, of me, of the trees, and flowers, and time, and ideas. He knows what He has in store for me. He knows what He will use me (and you) for.

You alone are the Lord. You made the skies and the heavens and all the stars. You made the earth and the seas and everything in them. You preserve them all, and the angels of heaven worship you.

– Nehemiah 9:6

Me? Not really.

We can make our plans,
but the Lord determines our steps.

Proverbs 16:9

And that’s kinda really cool.

To be completely honest, my biggest spiritual growth in Chile was learning that my plans are garbage in comparison to the perfectly scripted plans of God. I waste my time forcing my plans to work. I see that I’d like to go from Point A to Point B, and can give you 32 ways to get there, 3 that are the most effective, and the one I like the most. But really, God wants me to start at Point 7, jump  to Point 3, and cartwheel to X34 (something completely off my radar).

God is not limited to my plans. 

You can make many plans,
but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.

– Proverbs 19:21

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

– Jeremiah 29:11

In fact, it’s kind of selfish for me to follow what I think is right, when God has so much more in store.

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

– Ephesians 3:20

Chile was not in my plans.

Not at all.

But it was in God’s plan.

It was God’s leading and nudging that derailed the Jean train and put me on His track.

It was God who showed me the importance of flexibility and openness to change.

It was God who demonstrated peace in the midst of confusion.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

– Philippians 4:6-7 (NLT, emphasis added)

God’s got this.

It’s not my responsibility to worry. In fact, I’m told not too.

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”  – Matthew 10:29-31  (NIV)

So you’re telling me that I’m worth a great deal to God?

Yes.

You’re telling me that God has a plan for my life?

Yes.

You’re telling me that God has a better plan for my life than I have for my life?

Yes.

You’re telling me that God might surprise me with His plan for my life?

Absolutely yes.

God’s not limited by our human expectations or dreams. He’s so much more. If we let Him work in our lives, He can and will exceed even our wildest dreams.

So no, I don’t know what I’m going to do with a Spanish degree. I know that I want to continue to follow God wherever he leads.

That might mean another major. Or grad school. Or teaching. Or moving across the world.

But as long as I serve Him, all else falls away.

Also, our message this Sunday at Northridge was over God the potter and us as the clay. Something our pastor said struck me.

“What should you do when life falls apart?

Let God remake you

As I type this, I’m reminded of one of my favorite songs. “Beautiful Things” by Gungor.

If you haven’t heard this song, take a listen and soak in the lyrics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OR7VOKQ0xJY

“You make me knew. You are making me knew….You make beautiful things out of us”

God will refresh us. He will renew us.

God is enough.

He is all we need.

Leave a Reply

