Opportunities

One of my friends shared a bit of his testimony a few weeks ago at Challenge. His walk and friendship has inspired me in many ways and that Thursday, I feel like God used him once more in my life.

He shared a verse that had been part of my devotional that morning and one that has been close to my heart for quite some time.

Romans 8:28, NLT “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”

God does cause everything to work together for our good. He has a plan that surpasses our wildest dreams and imagination (Remember Eph 3:20? – my theme verse for Chile). God has changed my life for the better and has led me to some incredible moments.

I spent a semester abroad, loving the fatherless and learning what it means to be loved by our Heavenly Father. I met my best friend after I returned from Chile and she returned from Africa. I’ve grown closer to some incredible Christ-followers, and have also grown closer to Christ. I spent my spring break interpreting for Northridge in Agujita, Mexico. I’m going to Chicago at the end of this month to learn more about Christ and the cause for the fatherless.

So much of my life is falling into place. I’m not only learning and discerning where God has a plan for me, but also hearing about the incredible things He is doing through my friends. While on my way to Mexico, I met someone from my graduating class at East who sees a need for Christ in a specific genre of music. I talked to another person who goes to Northridge who feels called to counsel missionaries. I have a friend with a heart for Africa and a friend with a desire to love Romanians. God is doing incredible things. He is moving.

Recently, I feel like God has especially shown me how He has been working in my life and through my studies. I found out that not only can I graduate in four years (or less!), but that I can do so with a double degree and another experience abroad. I’m checking off the last few requirements of my major and drawing closer to graduation. It’s a nice place to be in. I have options and I have opportunities. Now I just need to trust Him to take control and put everything together for His purpose for my life.

I think it’s important to remember that God’s plans don’t always look like what we think they should. Often, they turn out different than our plans. But I think that at that point, we also have the opportunity to realize that His plans are better than ours.

“‘My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,’ says the LordAnd my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.'”- Isaiah 55:8, NLT

Leave a Reply

